Nil desperandum

10 July 2012 § 2 Comments

1o July

In the face of everything: nil desperandum.  (Or, as Mr. Lockwood would say, “Dignity.  Always dignity.”)  It’s the OED word of the day.

Ahhhh freedom!

I just returned from the exquisite joy of a longish run.  Eleven miles round a 500m dirt track gives the mind ample time and landscape for unfettered wandering.  Much of Beryl Markham’s descriptions of flights and Kenyan land and friends occupied my thoughts, but at one point I found myself puzzling the Myers-Briggs type of Dr. Watson from Sherlock Holmes.  I’ve abandoned research on that, but I cannot help pondering the types of people I meet.  There are some corrections to that post long ago in that spiritually desolate European land, but I suppose I’ll edit it when the whim falls upon me.

Awaiting diagnosis . . .

Yesterday, I read some old annual reports of the newborn community health project and an article from the New England Journal of Medicine about health care in low-resource environments, and then I edited Dr. Mary’s humanitarian-medical (apparently this is an actual realm of writing) article.  Editing is a joy when the text at hand is a field of rich ideas ready for harvest.

This morning, I finished reading West with the Night; next in the queue is Hunter’s To Change the World.  Since most writers start with the aim of To Change the Reader, I expect great things from the scanty few hundred pages.  I keep abandoning a giant tome of systematic theology to read shorter books that people tell me to read.  There are not enough hours for all of these books.

This is from the safari. Gold stars to the person who identifies what these are . . .

I just received a note telling me that I do not need to secure approval from the IRB for my research in South Africa (I submitted my proposal months ago).  This is great news . . . especially because I have already done my research.

§ 2 Responses to Nil desperandum

Comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nil desperandum at aixpatriate.

meta

