Of letters and trains

15 August 2012 § Leave a comment

15 August

I just received a pleasant note that my post box has been reopened.  It actually fills me with joy.

Look at that forbidding sign. No picnics?

I just read Chesterton’s Heretics (which I enjoyed as much as Orthodoxy), and he has a word about letters, for all of you unbelievers: “Posting a letter and getting married are among the few things left that are entirely romantic; for to be entirely romantic a thing must be irrevocable.”

I also discovered that one of my favourite professors is at Yasnaya Polyana.  My mouth actually fell open in awe/happiness/jealousy/excitement when I read what she wrote.  It is one of my dreams to go there.  If you want a good idea of it, read Sophia Tolstaya’s diary or watch The Last Station.

“What’s that smell?”
“Voltaire No. 6.”

Last night/this morning (no one could stay awake), Sara and Anna and I watched The Darjeeling Limited.  I would make a profession of love that would be no exaggeration, yet that sort of thing simply cannot be disclosed.

Only joking. I confess my love

Comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Of letters and trains at aixpatriate.

meta

